Saint-Genevieve–de-Bois. The Russian Cemetry

Looking for the Lost Russia

Some 30 km South of Paris, in the town of Saint-Genevieve-de- Bois there is a quiet cemetery, which is usually called the Russian Cemetery.

In 1927, not far from the town cemetery of Saint-Genevieve-de- bois the Russian Princess Vera Mescherskaya had founded the “Russian home" for elderly Russian immigrants. Local authorities had allocated a considerable land allotment at the town cemetery for these Russians.
A beautiful Church had been dressed up on the territory of the Russian part of the town cemetery by architect Albert Benois. The church features the style of 15-16 century Pskov and Novgorod architecture. It is amazingly beautiful in its rigor and simplicity.

This cemetery is a veritable necropolis of Russian emigration in France. There are also those who left Russia during the Soviet period -all about 15000 Russians: representatives of the Imperial Romanov House, Russian nobility, soldiers and sailors who fought in the ranks of the White movement, clergy, writers and artists.

Here lies the Grand Duke Andrei Vladimirovich and his wife, the famous ballerina Mathildf Kschessinska, Russian Prince Felix Yusupov, the main organizer of the murder of Rasputin and his wife, Grand Duchess Irina Aleksandrovna, granddaughter of the Emperor Alexander III, the first head of the Provisional Government - Prince Lvov; our compatriots, who glorified the Russian Ballet and had developed its traditions in France -Sergei Lifar, Olga Preobrazhenskaya, Rudolf Nureyev; artists - Somov, Korovin, Makovsky, Dobuzhinsky, Zinaida Serebriakova; writers - Merezhkovsky and Gippius, Bunin, Viktor Nekrasov, Galich, Andrei Tarkovsky and many, many others...

Price and timing

The tour lasts 3.5 hours.

It costs from 300 € for the group.

Вверх

Сен-Женевьев-де-Буа, Русское кладбище

В поисках утраченной России

В 30 км к югу от Парижа, в городке Сен-Женевьев-де Буа находится тихое кладбище, которое называют русским. В 1927 году недалеко от местного кладбища княгиней Мещерской был создан «Русский дом» для престарелых русских эмигрантов». Местные власти выделили для русских часть кладбища, где они и «стали хорониться», по выражению одного из пансионеров.

На территории кладбища по проекту Альберта Бенуа была построена церковь в стиле псковско-новгородской архитектуры XV-XIV века - удивительно красивая в своей строгости и простоте.

Это кладбище стало некрополем русской эмиграции во Франции. Здесь покоятся также те, которые вынужденно покинули Россию уже во времена Советского Союза – всего около 15000 русских: представители императорского дома Романовых, русского дворянства, военных и моряков, сражавшихся в рядах Белого движения, духовенства, писатели, художники, артисты...

Здесь покоятся великий князь Андрей Владимирович с женой, прославленной русская балериной Матильдой Кшесинской, князь Феликс Юсупов – главный организатор и участник убийства Распутина с женой, великой княгиней Ириной Александровной Романовой, первый глава временного правительства князь Львов; наши соотечественники, прославившие русский балет и развивавшие его традиции во Франции – Сергей Лифарь, Ольга Преображенская, Рудольф Нуреев; художники Сомов, Коровин, Маковский, Добужинский, Зинаида Серебрякова; писатели – Мережковский и Гиппиус, Бунин, Виктор Некрасов, Галич; режиссер Андрей Тарковский и многие, многие другие.

Стоимость и продолжительность

Поездка рассчитана на 3.5 часа.

Стоимость от 300 €

Записаться на экскурсию "Русское кладбище"

Вверх