The Basilica Saint-Denis

The Sepulcher of French Kings

The metro line № 13 will lead you to the northern suburb of Paris - Seine-Saint-Denis, where you will find the oldest and one of the most beautiful gothic churches of Paris and suburbs, say of all France. Here stays the Basilica of Saint-Denis. It contains over 70 tombs, recumbent statues and funeral monuments of the Kings and Queens of France.

It is believed that under this basilica in the old crypt were once buried three Christian martyrs – the first bishop of Paris - Dionysius and his two companions- priest Rusticus and deacon Elefterius, all three beheaded by the Romans on the Hill of Montmartre in 250 ad. for their fervent missioning for the Christ. The basilica was founded in 475 by the nun Genevieve – later recognized as patroness of Paris.
Nearly all French monarchs beginning with the founder of the Capetian dynasty - Hugues Capet (in 996) up to the sunset of the Royal Bourbon dynasty in 1789 were buried in the Basilica of Saint-Denis. In the 13th century the king Louis IX (Saint-Louis) ordered to transfer to the Basilica of Saint-Denis the remains of the Kings of the two previous dynasties - the Merovingians, and the Carolingians.

During the French Revolution all tombs were opened and remains of the Kings were dropped into a ditch outside the Basilica. At present all the remains are located in the ossuaries in the crypt of Saint-Denis Basilica.

Above the tombs inside the basilica one can see a unique collection of the recumbent funeral statuary representing features of funeral art of different periods of French history – the early and later Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the 17-18 century, the era of Restoration.

Before the revolution of 1789, the royal attributes of power (the Royal Regalia) - the sword of Charlemagne, the hand of Justice, the scepter - were held at the Saint-Denis Basilica to be used during the ceremony of the French Kings Coronation in Reims. Now the Royal Regalia are exhibited at the Louvre.

PROGRAM

  • History of the construction of the Basilica, the Abbot Suger;
  • Architecture (the crypt, the chapel of Bourbons, the ossuary, the altar, other chapels, stained glass windows) ;
  • Funeral sculpture.

Price and timing

The tour lasts 2 hours.

  • 130 € for the group of 1-2 people;
  • 160 € for the group of 3-6 people.

Price of tickets is not included.

Вверх

Базилика Сен-Дени

Усыпальница французских королей

На севере Парижа – последняя остановка линии метро 13 – находится самая старая и одна из самых красивых готических церквей Парижа, читай всей Франции.

Считается, что на месте этого собора были захоронены христианские мученики – Епископ Парижский Дионисий, священник Рустик и дьякон Элефтер, обезглавленные римлянами на холме Монмартр в 250 году. В 475 году стараниями монахини Женевьевы здесь была возведена церковь и основан монастырь. Святая Женевьева – покровительница Парижа. В ее честь возведена церковь на одном из парижских холмов. Теперь – в здании этой церкви находится Пантеон; в нем покоятся великие люди Франции. Мощи же святой Женевьевы – в усыпальнице в церкви Святого Стефания на горе по соседству с Пантеоном.

Начиная с основателя династии капетингов Хьюго Капета (996 год) вплоть до заката королевской династии Бурбонов в 1789 году – почти все французкие короли (за исключением 3-х) хоронились в Соборе Сен-Дени.

В 13-ом веке Людовик Святой приказал перенести прах королей двух предшествующих династий Меровингов и Королингов в собор Сен-Дени.

Во время французской революции усыпальницы были вскрыты и прах королей сброшен в ров за пределами собора. В настоящее время все найденные останки находятся в оссуарии в склепе Собора.

На месте захоронений в соборе находится погребальная скульптура – жизаны. Это уникальная коллекция, представляюшая традиции похоронной скульптуры в различные периоды истории Франции (ранее и позднее средневековье, эпоха ренессанса, 17-18 век, эпоха реставрация).
До революции 1789 года в соборе Сен-Дени также хранились королевские атрибуты власти (регалии) - меч Шарлеманя, рука правосудия, скипетр, которые вручались новому королю во время коронации, проходившей в Реймсе. В настоящее время регалии находятся в Лувре.

Программа

  • История строительства собора, аббат Сюжер;
  • Архитектура (крипта, часовня бурбонов, оссуарий, алтарь, обход алтаря, витражи);
  • Погребальная скульптура – королевские династии меровингов, каролингов, капетингов.

Стоимость и продолжительность

Экскурсия длится 1,5-2 часа.

Стоимость:

  • 130 € для группы 1-2 человека;
  • 160 € для группы 3-6 человек.

Записаться на экскурсию "Базилика Сен-Дени"

Вверх